Yuja Wang and the Philharmonia Orchestra

Rachmaninoff and Tchaikovsky

Wednesday 14th December 2022 | 20:00h


In collaboration with:


Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Romeo and Juliet (Overture-Fantasy)

Sergei Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 1 in F sharp minor, Op. 1

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36


Led by its principal conductor, the young and talented Santtu-Matias Rouvali, the Philharmonia Orchestra, one of the most outstanding London ensembles in the world, presents a programme with a markedly passionate character. In the Romeo and Juliet Overture Tchaikovsky captured the emotional maelstrom provoked by a failed love story. For its part, Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 1 is defined by its youthful temperament and freshness. The composer wrote it when he was only 18 years old and still a student at the Moscow Conservatory, although he revised it 26 years later.

Yuja Wang has performed it all over the world, receiving excellent reviews for his ability to create dreamy states in the most lyrical passages of the work and impart brightness and energy to the more rhythmic ones. Tchaikovsky revealed in a letter to his protector Nadezhda von Meck that the core of his Fourth Symphony is its introduction, which represents Fate. The music that follows was inspired by the struggle between dreams and reality that we all have to cope with.


Yuja Wang piano
Santtu-Matias Rouvali conductor
Philharmonia Orchestra

Information about the concert

Terms and Conditions
  • Ticket prices include VAT at 10%, but there are no handling fees.
  • BCN Clàssics reserves the right to modify the programming if any event beyond its control makes it necessary. If an artist is unable to offer a concert on the scheduled date, BCN Clàssics will look for a replacement of equal status. If this is not possible, an alternative date will be scheduled. The concert will only be cancelled as a last resort.
  • The cancellation of a concert is the only admissible reason for a refund of the amount paid for the tickets. In other cases, BCN Clàssics will not refund the amount paid for the tickets. Depending on the case, they can be exchanged for vouchers worth the same amount, which can be used for other concerts on the programme.
  • The listed ticket prices are indicative. BCN Clàssics reserves the right to modify the prices of certain concerts depending on the number of tickets sold.
  • Once a concert has begun, entry to the auditorium is not permitted.

Subscribe to BCN Clàssics 24/25

Discount on ticket prices.
Big concerts. The best seats. Payment by instalments.